Weekly Link Up: Sports!

So for this week, we’re talking about sports and activities for children… and us. I suspect that I am not the only mother who feels flabbergasted by the idea of having her own regular sport or activity. I  mean, I know those moms exist – especially the ones that work out at the gym regularly. And, believe it or not, I have a mom friend with three children, who not only homeschools, but runs her own canteen business at our local farm market on Fridays… and plays on a hockey team! Oh yeah, and still finds time to do stunning water color paintings that have been displayed at a local art gallery. I just know that she has been given superhuman powers from the planet of Krypton, it’s the only possible explanation! Let’s just preface this week’s link up by saying – I am not that Mom.

1. What sports do your kids play?

A lot. Oie vey. When we made the decision to homeschool, we agreed that having our children in an organized sport or activity was important to us, for the social end of things. As the children have gotten older, that list has grown to two sports, each. So, for organized sports my son does gymnastics and basketball, and my daughter does gymnastics and dance. In the summer they both play soccer and take swimming lessons.

However, my kids are extremely athletic, as are my husband and I, so sports that they do for fun regularly  include skiing, snowboarding, golfing, biking, swimming, skating and just some good ol’ backyard baseball with Dad. Also, the homeschool group that we participate in, has bi-weekly gym days with organized sports activities (so one week might be volleyball, another basketball, another soccer etc…). We typically attend once a month.

All that said – we will be dropping gymnastics for both children at the end of the month, due to recommendations from their OT/PT. Both children now have a suspected diagnosis of Elhers-Danlos Syndrome, and both children have hypermobile joints with pain. We were informed that gymnastics is just about the worst sport we could have them in; so, for the sake of proactively protecting their joints, we’ll be dropping it.

On one hand I’m sad – they love gymnastics and both showed real talent, and had been invited to the competitive team. But I’ll admit, I’m actually looking forward to getting my Saturday mornings back! I might possibly be able to sleep in on Saturdays now! (*insert laughter here*)

2. What do you do for exercise?

Um… um…

I walk up and down the stairs with laundry, I sweep and mop the floors, I crawl on my hands and knees searching for lost toys under the couches, and I chop kindling and lug firewood up from the basement. Yay, me!

I am one of those moms who in no way gets regular exercise. Want to have a laugh? We own a treadmill – it’s in our bedroom, next to my side of the bed, no less. Do you know the last time I was on it? No? Don’t feel bad, neither do I.

I enjoy lots of sports – I golf, ski, skate, bike and swim along with the kids, I enjoy shooting the basketball with my husband, we also like to go bowling as a family, but none of those are regular. It is something I would like to work on in all honesty. I have this nice goal of doing 30 minutes a day on the treadmill. It just seems that by the time the kids are in bed, the only exercise I feel like doing is the short walk from the kitchen to the couch.

3. In the Mom Olympics, what would your event be?

I thought about this, and  I decided I would be a referee for one of the events. I’d be the person in black and white, blowing the whistle, physically separating the arguing people and trying to reason and negotiate, trying to decide who was in the right and who was in the wrong, and dealing out appropriate discipline. I live with a child with Autism and a child with Sensory Processing Disorder, who have sensory issues in polar opposite to each other, and who are both prone to meltdowns. If refereeing was an event, I’d totally win gold!

One thought on “Weekly Link Up: Sports!

Leave a Reply

