Celebrating Fall

Oh how we love fall in this house! My son definitely takes after me, in that he much prefers the cooler temperatures of fall. He would far sooner be bundled up in jeans, boots and a warm sweater in the cool air, than lounge around in shorts and a t-shirt in the heat of summer. And we both enjoy the beauty that fall brings, with the changing colors of the leaves, and the sparkling frost in the early morning’s light.

Since we started on our homeschooling journey two years ago (I consider my son’s Pre-K year our “starting” year), we have always celebrated the seasonal equinoxes.  This is our third fall. While I try to, it doesn’t always happen right on the actual equinox. This year, I had to work on September 22nd, the official start to fall. So, we kicked off our fall season the on Saturday instead, with a trip to Orchard Shades Farm where we picked a bushel of delicious Lobo apples.

DSC_0034_edited-1 DSC_0053 DSC_0063 DSC_0087 copy

My children had already picked out pumpkins from a local store – great big giant pumpkins! My son’s choice was a 30 pound monster, and my daughter’s wasn’t far behind, weighing in at 25 pounds. I can already imagine the fun we’re going to have trying to carve those beasts! On Monday, we set up our traditional fall display outside our home with our scarecrow, pumpkins and this year, we were even able to add in a few sunflowers that were grown in our very own garden! The decorations are extremely modest by most people’s standards, but the kids enjoy the yearly ritual of setting up our scarecrow each fall, just the same.

DSC_0001-1

Today however (Thursday, September 26th), was really our “Fall Celebration” day, and it came about in a totally impromptu way. It hadn’t been a wonderful morning. The children were both late getting to sleep last night – and as most parents know, late nights tend to equal cranky children. By early morning time-outs had been given, threats of losing toys uttered, and yes, even a spanking delivered. I decided we needed to get out of the house.

I bundled the children into their jackets and boots, and we headed outside. I knew exactly what we needed to do, so I grabbed a rake and went to work.  In a few minutes I had a wonderful pile of leaves raked up – and in even less time the children had it destroyed. Time and again I raked the pile back up, so they could run down our neighbour’s yard and jump into the pile. When they grew tired of running they would sit in the pile throwing the leaves on each other, and myself. I’m not immune to the appeal of playing in the fall leaves, and I made several jumps into the pile with the children.  We would run far back, grab hands, and run, the three of us together, yelling “Cannonball!”, as we leapt into the pile. We returned to the house out of breath and covered in leaves.

DSC_0022 DSC_0024 copy DSC_0039 copy DSC_0060 copy

I figured we might as well go all out, and make this our “Fall Day”, so before we came inside I snagged a few nice looking leaves, for a craft idea I had seen on Pinterest (the website I always swore I would never visit). We came back inside, brushed the leaves off ourselves, and got to work. The children made “Leaf Butterflies”. While I drew Ashley’s, she colored it completely by herself. The children got a great kick out of turning leaves into butterflies.

DSC_0072

To finish off our morning, we dug into our library (I figure with over 1000 books, we can call our bookshelves a library!) and picked out some of our fall favorites. We spent some cuddle time on the couch reading, and my son enjoyed practicing his reading skills, trying to read some of the harder books himself. Our choices for the day were:  Possum’s Harvest Moon, Sky Tree, The Deer in the Wood, The Fox and the Falling Leaves, There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed Some Leaves and Awesome Autumn.

All in all, I would say our fall is off to a wonderful start!

Leave a Reply

