Back in the Saddle Again…

I realized the other day that it has been 4 months since my last post! Life has been a bit crazy since then – nothing major, just… life. What is it about summer that seems to put your life on fast-forward, making the time fly by? Somewhere between vacations, visiting friends and family, gymnastics camp, dance camp, soccer league, my once-a-week waitressing shift and my column for the newspaper… Well I just turned around once and summer was gone.

Here we are, September 12th, with leaves turning and falling to the ground, nights getting down as cool as 38F, and……. yup, you guessed it! School is back in session in the Hanson Household! Another year of homeschooling began on August 26th, as my son started “Grade 1”. We’re just finishing up our third week, and I think it’s safe to say this will be even better than last year. I look at last year (kindergarten) as our “Learning Curve” year – trying things, finding what works, what doesn’t work, figuring out my teaching style, and Thomas’ learning style.

This year we are using Heart of Dakota’s “Little Hearts for His Glory”.  While Thomas was probably capable of doing the next level up, I think sensory-wise we made the right choice. We are working hard to get Thomas on a strict sensory diet, giving him lots of time for the input that he so vigorously seeks out. What I love about “Little Hearts”, is that it is a very interactive curriculum. Every day has the child doing a “Rhyme in Motion”, where they recite rhymes, set to motion and pantomimes. The Bible lesson always incorporates an active game of some sort. Plus every day there is a “rotating box” that does a different interactive lesson each day: Thinking Games, Dramatic Play, Art and two days of hands-on Science. It is, without a doubt, the most perfect all-in-one curriculum I think I’ve ever seen for any young child, especially one with sensory disorder. All the active lessons double as “sensory breaks”, making school-time so much easier for my son. From start to finish it only takes us two hours a day, sometimes less.

He’s happy, and I’m happy. Many days, he is asking me to do more lessons! I know it’s early in the year, but I hope that his enthusiasm for learning continues for the whole year.

Well that is just a quick update for now. I will try to do better about posting!

One thought on “Back in the Saddle Again…

  1. Hi… It’s is Nancy Wall here, from the fb Canadian Homeschool Group.. Love the pictures you have here!
    Just starting my blog back up too… Right now it’s a mess and everything I wrote after April is missing… hopefully I can get it all fixed within a few days! Homeschooling does get really busy and it’s hard to get time online.
    http://www.afaithjourney.ca

Leave a Reply

