Welcome to My Crazy Eclectic Life!

I have been blogging for a few years now, I’ve had a couple of different sites. They all represented a different area of my life, but up until now, I’ve had nothing about my real life. My life in general. My crazy, every day, woman of many hats, life.

How would I describe my life? In one word: eclectic.

The first part of my life that I share is that I am a Christian. Without God, I am not me. My faith has sustained me through a life that has been far from easy at times. I am far from where I aspire to be in my Christian walk, I make many mistakes, but I keep trying.

Then there’s my myriad of interests: photography, writing, singing, playing piano, golf, horseback riding, skiing, cross stitching, knitting, quilting, cooking, baking, reading, gardening, designing houses… you get the idea. There’s a lot.

I am talented in all of those items in varying degrees… with the least amount of talent in golf! But that doesn’t stop me from enjoying it.

Out of those talents comes the “career”. Well, the aspiring career. Photography and writing do bring me a small amount of income. I started my own photography business in 2012, and it’s slowly growing. I also have a weekly column in our local newspaper titled “Welcome to Chaos!”,  about the joys and trials of parenting.

Which brings us to the other huge aspect of my life, in reality the largest aspect of my life. My life as a mother.

I am a stay at home mother to two beautiful children: our son Thomas who was born in 2007, and our daughter Ashley, born in 2010. Parenting alone is a crazy business for anyone, however our children have presented us with a few extra challenges.

Our son has Sensory Processing Disorder, and what looks to be mild Tourette’s Syndrome. Our daughter was born with two heart defects and put us through a horrible, crazy first year, with a blessedly miraculous outcome. Now, at almost three, she is taking us down a new journey, as she is undergoing evaluations for a few possible issues including Sensory Processing Disorder, seizures and Autism.

Our son is currently under Occupational Therapy, and our daughter is under Early Intervention, however will be receiving more therapies depending on the outcome of her evaluations. I despise the label “Special Needs Mom”, as I feel my children’s issues are so mild compared to others, and yet, to a degree, it’s what I am.

Life is crazy.  Oh yeah, I forgot to mention: I’m homeschooling, too.

Yes. Homeschooling. My husband and I made the decision to homeschool for several reasons when our son was four. Like my life, our reasons were an eclectic mixture: the desire for a Christian education, the desire for a better education, the knowledge that our son couldn’t cope with public school (at that time we didn’t know he had SPD, we just knew that he had some “quirks” that would make it difficult for him) among other reasons. The benefits of homeschooling are numerous. We decided to give it a trial run with preschool at home, and fell in love. Will we go all the way to graduation with it? Who knows. Time will tell.

So there is it, an introduction into my crazy, eclectic life. It’s far from the full picture. That’s too time-consuming to tell all at once, but you’ll gain bits and pieces as we journey together.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to My Crazy Eclectic Life!

  1. I’m excited to read your blog! I love blogs that integrate everyday life with their topics, so instead of just a cooking blog or homeschool blog I get to know the whole person. Stopping by from SCM.

Leave a Reply

